top of page

The Story Behind "Push Tags"

Screenshot 2014-09-07 20.58.15.png

Ryan Barnett made this micro-documentary a year ago for the Open Frame Film Festival at Malone University and won Outstanding Achievement in Documentary Film. Push is a local street artist who believes that his "art is free" to the community of Canton.

Artist's Interview with Ryan Barnett

Why is this story important for our community?

This story is important to the community because Push is a local street artist and he is broadcasting his work all throughout Stark County. I'm sure that a lot of you have seen a piece of his work, and this documentary was meant to capture the life and struggles of a local artist.

How did you choose your subject for the film?

I chose to do Push because I found myself interested in the life of a Street Artist. I was trying to establish my own opinions on Street Art and the laws constraining street art. I soon found myself wrestling with wanting to help the audience view graffiti as a form of art and expression not as vandalism or defacing public property. So what better way to embody these things then to spend 4 months with a graffiti artist!

What was the most challenging part of making this film?

The most challenging part about making this film was my inexperience. I had never directed, shot, or edited anything before in my life, and as my first project there were a lot of mistakes to be made. To go along with that, Push and I grew very close during the process and not wanting to let him down I knew I had to create a documentary that not only I loved, but he loved as well.

What was the most enjoyable part of making this film?

The most enjoyable part of this film was the relationship that I got to build with Push. I was constantly getting calls to come help him with his art, heading out into the streets to put up his art, and also just sitting and hanging out throughout the process.

Are you working on any future projects at the moment?

I am not currently making any documentaries, but I am going to Nairobi, Kenya in October 2012 to create a documentary with Christian Missionary Fellowship International about the people in Nairobi.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page